Allen G. NobleThe Society seeks to encourage and recognize books by authors regarding material culture in North America. Named for the renowned geographer, Allen G. Noble, the prize in his honor is granted annually for the best-edited book in the field published within two years of the award.

The Awards Committee

J. Cory Jensen, Chair |

Stephanie Roper |

Jeffery C. Wanser |


A three-member committee of the International Society for Landscape, Place, and Material Culture reviews candidate-books and recommends them to the full board of the Society. The board authorizes the prize and prizewinner each year. Prizewinners are invited to the annual meeting and receive:

1. A year’s free membership to ISLPMC

2. A free entry ticket to the awards banquet

3. A Book Award Certificate

The committee also recommends the Fred Kniffen Book Prize.


The committee is open to suggestions for the books to be considered. Contact committee chair J. Cory Jensen.

Recipients of the Allen Noble Book Awards

2023: No Award Presented.

2022: No Award Presented.

2021: The Oxford Handbook of History and Material Culture, edited by Sarah Anne Carter and Ivan Gaskell, Oxford University Press 2020.

2020: Avant-Garde in the Cornfields, edited by Ben Nicholson and Michelangelo Sabatino, University Of Minnesota Press, 2019.

2019: No Award Presented.

2018: No Award Presented.

2017: No Award Presented.

2016: Daniel Maudlin and Bernard L. Herman, for their edited volume, Building the British Atlantic World: Spaces, Places, and Material Culture, 1600-1850, University of North Carolina Press, 2016.

2015: No Award Presented.

2014: Wim de Wit and Christopher James Alexander, editors. Overdrive: L. A. Constructs the Future, 1940-1990. Los Angeles: Getty Research Institute, 2013.

2013: Karen L. Cox, editor. Destination Dixie: Tourism and Southern History. Gainesville, Florida: University Press of Florida, 2012.

2012: No Award Presented.

2011: Dianne Harris (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Illinois) — Second Suburb: Levittown

2010: Warren R. Hofstra (Shenandoah University, Winchester, Virginia) and Karl Raitz (University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky), eds. — The Great Valley Road of Virginia: Shenandoah Landscapes from Prehistory to the Present.

2009: Dianne Harris and D. Fairchild Ruggles, eds. (both from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) — Sites Unseen: Landscape and Vision

2009: Dianne Harris and D. Fairchild Ruggles, eds. (both from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) — Sites Unseen: Landscape and Vision

2008: No Award Presented.

2007: Claudette Stager (Tennessee Historical Commission) and Martha Carver (Tennessee Department of Transportation) — Looking Beyond the Highway: Dixie Roads and Culture

2006: Susan Tucker, Catherine Ott, and Patricia Buckler — The Scrapbook in American Life

2005: Steven Conn and Max Page — Building the Nation: Americans Write About Their Architecture, Their Cities and Their Landscape

2004: No Award Presented.

2003: No Award Presented.

2002: No Award Presented.

2001: Jan Albers — Hands on the Landscape: A History of the Vermont Landscape

Arnold R. Alanen and Robert Z. Melnick — Preserving Cultural Landscapes in America

2000: Ethan Carr — Wilderness by Design

1999: Gabrielle Lanier & Bernard Herman — Everyday Architecture of the Mid-Atlantic

1998: Thomas Visser — Field Guide to New England Barns and Farm Buildings

Thomas Carter, ed. — Images of the American Land: Vernacular Architecture in theWestern United States

1997: Terry Jordan, Jon Kilipinen, Fritz Gritzner — The Mountain West

Allen Noble & Hugh Wilhelm, eds. — Barns of the Midwest

1996: Terry Jordan — The New Mexico Cattle Frontier

Marion Nelson, ed. — Material Culture & People’s Art among the Norwegians in North America

1995: Bob Ensminger — The Pennsylvania Barn

Allen Noble — To Build in a New Land

1994: No Award Presented.

1993: No Award Presented.

1992: Catherine Bishir — North Carolina Architecture

Thomas Carter & Bernard L. Herman eds — Perspectives in Vernacular Architecture IV

1991: No Award Presented.

1990: Catherine Bishir, Charlotte Brown, Carl Lounsbury, Ernest Wood, Terry G. Jordan, Matti Kaups, Rosemary Joyce, Henry Glassie, Roger Kennedy, Norman Pounds for best authored books

Nezar Alsayyad and Jean-Paul Bourdier eds. — Dwellings, Settlements, and Tradition: Cross-Cultural Perspective

1989: Best edited book winners:

Nezar Al-Sayyed and Jean-Paul Bourdier

Carol F. Jopling

Puerto Rican Houses in Sociohistorical Perspective

Robert Blair St. George

Material Life in America, 1600-1860

Return to top